Epoxy floor paint questions

Old 10-06-06, 09:54 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Epoxy floor paint questions

Hi, I'm a novice who's renovating his home. So far so good, I'm down to the basement now. I depend on help through forums like this. The basement has had water in it but I think I've corrected that. I'm pulling up old vinyl tiles that were affixed with some black mastic that really holds well. The concrete has no cracks but appears dry and pulverizes easily. I was thinking an epoxy floor paint would help bind and waterproof at the same time. Does this sound like the best remedy (keeping budget in mind, it's a 900 sq ft basement). I'm torn between Drylok & Behr 1-part epoxies. Behr has more colors and will use that if it is as good a product as the Drylok. There are many new epoxy paints on the market, if you know of a better one please say so. Also, since they are both epoxy paints can I coat one over the other? I read in another forum YES if you sand the old stuff first. I'd like to get this right the first time as I hear epoxy is very difficult to remove. I'm all ears if anyone can help. Thanks much, this forum is great. Dave

Old 10-09-06, 03:28 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
Welcome to the forums Dave

I don't think that drylok is rated for floor traffic. Most behr products aren't favored by the pros. IMO your best bet would be to go to a paint store [not dept] and discuss your options with the paint rep.

Old 10-09-06, 06:36 PM
S
marksr's right
Neither one is a good choice
I agree, head on down to your local paint store and see what they offer

Old 10-10-06, 09:08 PM
D
Question Epoxy paint answers