What am I doing wrong?

Old 10-18-06, 04:20 PM
W
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What am I doing wrong?

We painted our walls in a new house with Lowes American Tradition Signature Acrylic satin wall paint. We used rollers to do the walls. We did the "W pattern", then went back and rolled from top to bottom. When the paint dried you can see roller marks in the paint.If you look straight at it it's fine, looking at an angle it looks bad and it's a mess. We did a second coat and it looks the same-how do we get nice smooth painted walls without roller marks? Is it the paint?

Old 10-18-06, 05:30 PM
D
While i'm no pro by any means, this is what i discovered through years of painting. If you want a good job, you need to use the best materials. I use a good "Sherwin Williams" primer and paint. I stay away from those home depot or lowes brands, i just never had results like i'm getting now.

Also, i can't stress the actual roller sleeve. I use a 3/8 nap soft woven roller......not those cheap ones you find in a 3 pack. Yeah, it may cost more for a single roller but i don't have the problem of lint and fuzz coming off the roller and onto my newly painted walls.
I'll just buy the rollers by the box and use them once, then toss 'em out when i'm done.

Bottom line......buy good material.

Old 10-18-06, 05:38 PM
W
I was using 1/4 inch nap shur-line premium rollers. I think I will try the 3/8 nap and get a better roller. What is the best type of roller sleeve to get as far as brand and material? I bought this brand of paint based on a consumers report rating article.

Old 10-18-06, 05:59 PM
D
Originally Posted by wsx123
I was using 1/4 inch nap shur-line premium rollers. I think I will try the 3/8 nap and get a better roller. What is the best type of roller sleeve to get as far as brand and material? I bought this brand of paint based on a consumers report rating article.