Painting Shutter-type Cabinets-Please Help

Old 10-23-06, 08:02 AM
L
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Painting Shutter-type Cabinets-Please Help

Greetings,

I am a newbie seeking advice on how to paint these kitchen cabinets. This is our first house (built in the 1950-60s) and we have some time before moving in to do some work on it. I've taken this cabinet project on as my priority (in addition to closets and other installations). How can I do a good painting job that will 1) build my confidence 2) show my dh that I can do it (smile). Here's a link to a picture of the cabinets:

http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c225/lisaquilts2/HomeInspectionVillageCourt008.jpg

The cabinets are currently lightly varnished. I plan to dismount them, sand, prime, and paint them in a bright color. I know to expect quite a bit of work. My concern is the (i don't know what the proper word is) "shuttered" or layered wood slats on the front of the cabinets. How do you paint them? Should I use a brush or roller? I have a 1/4 sheet sander and a Dremel tool for sanding, but how to get the paint in there evenly? I'm concerned because I am committed to a bright color and know that care must be taken. I was even thinking about two different colors (frames one color, inside slats another), so I know to expect a long process and a lot of work. That's fine. I just don't want it to be *wasted* work that I'll have to do over or be thoroughly dissapointed with.

Any advice on materials (paint, brushes, rollers, tape, primers, speciality kitchen paints) would be appreciated. Also, the only major paint store in our town is a Sherwin Williams--we also have a Lowe's.

Take care,
Lisa

Last edited by DIYaddict; 10-23-06 at 04:31 PM. Reason: Edited url for easier copying and pasting
Old 10-23-06, 09:06 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 699 Likes on 617 Posts
Welcome to the forums Lisa

I couldn't get the link to work