a question for the pros re:prep

Old 11-11-06, 04:39 PM
I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
a question for the pros re:prep

Hello,

I'm a painting contractor in Upstate NY. I recently was sub'd by a large builder to paint some very upscale homes (3 stage crown, mdf built-ins, 7" base, the works). Here is my question. There is another "old-timer" that also works for this sub and he and I disagree on the amount of prep that is the responsibilty of the painter versus the trim carpenters. It is his belief that he should have to do minimal prep (fill nail holes and caulk and maybe point up walls with dings). He never sands MDF cut or routed edges(or primes them for that matter). I, on the other hand, will sand everything and will either seal the routed edges with vinyl spackle or joint compound and then prime with a good oil based primer, typically Pittsburgh interior speed-hide oil based. The difference is of course time. He can blast through a room while I'm still prepping.

Another thing he does is to not use a drywall primer on the walls, instead he will either hit the walls and lid with Pittsburgh 6-70 flat latex white and then paint color over that.

So what is the general consensus? I'm thinking that I'm right in that it is part of the painting process and not up to the trim carpenters. They aren't leaving huge gaps and mistakes and often time they will fill seams if they are to big. The difference in the quality of the final product is only noticeable in a few areas. Usually, in the right light you can see the seam/nailhole sheen diff in the ceiling and of course the MDF where the fibers swell so bad it is like 60 grit sandpaper.

i'm not going to change the way I do my prep because I, and my clients, are happy with the results. I'm more curious to what other pros feel is the level of prep expected by painters/trim carpenters.

thanks!
kdb

Old 11-11-06, 07:23 PM
S
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi there
Welcome to the forum

Originally Posted by imkdb
Here is my question.