Preparing to Paint - Sanding

Old 11-27-06, 05:34 PM
U
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Preparing to Paint - Sanding

I just bought a used wooden bed. The original paint is a very dark brown. This is my first time sanding. I just tried to sand using an eletric hand sander using "very fine grit" paper. I noticed that none of the old dark brown paint came off. I want to paint it white. Am I using the correct sand paper?

Any tips would be very appreciated.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-27-06, 08:27 PM
C
I would use a coarser grit, more on the order of 60 or 80 to remove paint. It would be faster and more effective to strip the paint.

Old 11-27-06, 08:48 PM
N
I would prime it with an oil or shellac based primer, and wouldn't worry about trying to get off all the old paint.

Old 11-27-06, 09:01 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
I agree - as long as the brown paint is in good shape, I see no reason to sand, just prime and paint.

Old 11-28-06, 05:53 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 293 Votes on 260 Posts
Me three There is no need to remove the brown as long as it is in good shape. Just lightly sand it all and use a good solvent based primer. it can then be painted with latex, oil base or waterborne enamel.

Old 11-28-06, 07:16 AM
G
Also, as this bed is "very old" as you put it, sanding old paint carries its own risks. I wouldn't do it, just clean well with simple green, prime it, paint it, and be done with it.

Too many health concerns with sanding old paint unless you are properly trained.

Old 12-03-06, 01:34 PM
U
White Paint

Thank you so much. Great advice. One more question, we are going to paint it white. What would you recommend?

Old 12-03-06, 01:45 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
White paint