Wagner Wide Shot

Old 12-10-06, 09:07 PM
D
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wagner Wide Shot

I am repainting all my house interior (walls, ceiling, trims and doors) and looking for a quicker and better way. I read a lot about HVLP and airless systems. They are faster and give you better finising.
Any suggestions? Did anyone try the Wagner Wide Shot line?

Thanks,

Old 12-11-06, 07:22 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 720 Likes on 631 Posts
IMO spraying is seldom a good method for repainting a house - especially if it is occupied. The extra time/expense needed to adequaetly cover everything up usually makes brush and roller a better option.

HVLP is only good for spraying the woodwork. An airless puts out more volume of paint and is usually the preferred method for spraying homes. As a pro, I only use proffesional type equipment so I really can't comment on the usability of diy type spray equipment.

Old 12-11-06, 02:06 PM
G
Marksr has a point. Painting by spray can be complicated and difficult. Especially for a novice. If you are keeping your carpet and furnishings in the home, I would not recommend spraying.

If you are moving in, and its not occupied and carpet is either torn up or removed its a GREAT idea. You can spray a 2500 sq' house 2 coats (Plus Primer!) in a weekend. Remember to backroll though, or touchup will be impossible later.

If its occupied, and your carpet is staying, brush and roll is your best bet.

HVLP would be fine if you want to take 5 weeks to do the job. It is best for trim, doors, or other fine finishes Not for walls.

Good luck.

Old 12-11-06, 02:35 PM
S
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Spraying is not any faster...or easier, for casual painters
The prep is intense and the potential for disaster is high
It also takes a bit of a learning curve to get it down