Need help with major Latex Paint botch up

Old 03-15-07, 11:44 AM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Need help with major Latex Paint botch up

I painted a small bathroom in my home. I've painted a few rooms before, I'm by no means an expert, but never had such bad results before, I'm not sure what I did so wrong this time.

The room was originally a grey "granite" finish. I painted over it with a semi-gloss enamel latex paint. I did two coats. There was a day to dry between coats.

First Problem: When I pulled off the blue painters tape, it pulled off the paint with it. Some of the paint it seemed to pull off down to the dry wall.

2nd Problem: I obviously put it on too thick on the ceiling, and there is a obvious area where the paint looks like it pulled in a line to drip and dried that way.

3rd problem: The finish is, well, crappy. It's hard to describe... a friend said that it looks like I used a cheap roller and some of the roller fibers came off and stuck in the paint.

So what do I do????

My thought was to sand it down. I was told by one person that semi-gloss latex is nearly impossible to sand down and maybe I sould put another granite type finish over it.

My hubby thought to try to remove it by steaming it??? (He's not a painter either)

Is there something I could put on it to thin it down to take off what looks like fibers from the roller?

Any suggestions, short of tearing down the walls, would be greatly appreciated!

Thank-you so much

Lisa

Old 03-15-07, 02:00 PM
S
You don't mention primer anywhere in your post.I think this is a big part of your story.

If "granite" is just a color than I'd sand the so called "drips" and smooth them out and remove by scraping or sanding any loose or peeling paint,clean the walls well and apply one or two coats of good quality oil based primer.