Streaky ceiling on 2nd coat

Old 03-19-07, 11:54 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Streaky ceiling on 2nd coat

Summary:
I've repainted a bedroom; and after non-meticulous 2nd coat on the ceiling, the ceiling appears to have streaky roller marks.

Disclaimer:
I am an painting novice, be gentle.

Details:
I repainted a drywall room that was orig done w/ sprayed on builders paint in an antique white. I patched and sanded all imperfections (mostly thumb tack holes), sanded/washed, primed w/ a latex primer, finished w/ latex Kilz "one coat coverage" flat white interior paint.

Painting steps:
cut in, rolled ceiling, then walls

Problem:
After completing the walls, I noticed the paint was a bit thin in one area of ceiling, so I chose to put a 2nd layer on the whole ceiling to ensure evenness. About a 3 hr gap elapsed betw 1st and 2nd coats.

It's worth noting before applying the 2nd coat, ceiling was otherwise streak free (besides the thin area).

I applied 2nd ceiling coat perhaps not as carefully as I should have, w/out perfectly ensuring even coverage and meticulously smoothing out edges. I suppose I (stupidly) thought that since I had done an even 1st coat, I didn't need to do a "perfect" 2nd coat, and it would dry just fine. I was obviously wrong.

After the 2nd coat ceiling coat, i can see a lot of the moves/streaks I made w/ the roller. The walls, however, look just fine.

Solution:
What do I do from here to fix the ceiling?

The ceiling doesn't have raised paint edges from the edge of the roller - rather, it looks like differences in sheen/roller marks - tough to describe.