Oil-Based Brush Marks (Uggghh)

Old 04-07-07, 12:11 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face Oil-Based Brush Marks (Uggghh)

I am an amateur woodworker who is not comfortable with paint. In particular, recent wood projects that called for paint I've used an oil-based enamel but constantly fighting brush marks or orange peels. Out of frustration I purchased a can of acrylic enamel that was water based. I applied one coat of the water-based paint to the top of a desk I'm distressing (and distressed-ha) that I had already sanded the previous finish off, applied 1-2 coats of primer, and 2+ coats of oil-based enamel. I was quite astonished to find that one hastily applied coat of the water-based paint settled better that the oil based. Oh, and I've tried (with the oil-based) to use conditioners to assist in the leveling.

General suggestions would be greatly appreciated in terms of a simpler approach...but in particular, are there any cardinal rules I have broken by applying a water-based paint on top of an oil-based paint? Other than it sounds rediculous I admit.

One other thought...please assume I'm referring to interior projects. Thx!!!
Thanks!!!!

Sponsored Links
Old 04-07-07, 03:04 PM
Well, usually you should apply a coat of solvent-based primer on top of oil based paints or enamels before applying any water-based finishes

You may be OK, if it's not doing any alligator/fisheye/orangepeel things
But I wouldn't count on it working every time

If you found a finish that suits your needs (levels out brush marks well), then stay with that
Just use that water-based enamel over your primer coat instead of the oil-based that had you fighting brush marks

Old 04-07-07, 05:02 PM
The only time I've had problems with oil-based enamels was when I mistakenly grabbed the wrong type of brush. If apply oil-based paints, use a brush made for oil-based paints. It makes a difference.