Sprayer Or Brush

Old 04-11-07, 01:45 PM
D
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Sprayer Or Brush

I have been volunteered by Pops to paint my sisters home, Thank you dad.
I was planning on eventually painting my own home so this will be good practice. Last time I attempted this feat I was 12 years old in Sacramento painting my aunts home. Don't remember it much and im sure it looks like hell now!
To the point. I am interested in using a sprayer on this home. It has wood siding and I believe the paint is oil based. I am a mechanic and have a large appreciation for the right tools especially the latest thing. I have a large desire to attempt the sprayer but could use some advise. I need to do the job right. Thanks for your time.

Old 04-11-07, 06:15 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,182 Likes on 1,140 Posts
Can you clarify - you're painting the outside of the house?

Old 04-11-07, 07:01 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 720 Likes on 631 Posts
While spraying can speed up the paint job there are other things to consider. It is often preferable to back brush or back roll paint that is applied by spray to work the paint into the substrate = better longer lasting job. There is also the concern with overspray. Spraying takes a little getting used to - more to it than just pullling the trigger.

If you do buy an airless, the piston pumps will outlast a diaphram pump. It is also nice to have a pump that you can readily get repair parts for. Life is too short to have a spray tip that isn't reversible. And of course the better the spray pump, the more it costs.

Old 04-11-07, 07:25 PM
G
OP,

If this is your first EXTERIOR job and you are using oil? Spraying would NOT be for you. Brush or roll is your best bet.

Latex dries in about 10' out of the sprayer. Oil takes slightly longer, about 500' or so. So unless you are ready to both paint the house and file insurance papers to replace your neighbors house, and car paint jobs, brush and roll.

Old 04-12-07, 12:09 PM
D