kitchen cabinet repainting

Old 05-15-07, 04:06 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
kitchen cabinet repainting

I painted our kitchen cabinets with Sherwin Williams Classic 99 Semi-Gloss Alkyd Enamel paint (slight off-white) 12 years ago. They are still in excellent shape, but, we want to drop the shade to a little more creame color now. Can I just paint over them with new paint or do I need to do any special prep work. I sprayed with an airless sprayer before but would like to use brush and roller this time. What type of brush and roller, nap/thickness, should I use? What brand paint. Stay with S.W.?
Your pointers will be greatly appreciated!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-15-07, 06:51 PM
J
cabinets

Roncat,
You can go over your existing oil base paint with the same thing, using your new color. I've been a custom painter for 36 years, and almost all my work is high end, so I would not even think of using a roller on a set of custom cabinets. Just get a nice 3" or 4" inch China bristle brush(Wooster Yachtsman's) are my favorite. They are incredible brushes but they don't take your life savings to buy one. A 3 will be about 8 bucks, and a 4 will be about $10 or $12. It wouldn't hurt to lightly sand the doors,drawer facings, and frames, and then wipe them down with a slightly damp thinner rag, and then use a tack cloth on them. Each extra little step you take will yield a nicer finish. Use some 150, or even some 220 grit paper. Take all your doors off and the hinges. If the hardware is black or painted; lay it on some cardboard and spray it with a gloss spray can in the color of your choice. If the hardware is brass or unfinished; you can soak it in laquer thinner to remove and old paint from them. Lay all the doors on an extention ladder or 2- 2x4's stretched out over saw horses if you have the equipment, and do each side. You can backeach drawer out about 4 inches or so and do the faces. This can be done before or after the frames are done. I usually take everything away from