painting new construction

Old 07-18-07, 09:01 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
painting new construction

I have been doing repaints for a while now and would like to branch into painting new residential construction. How would one go about tackling such a painting venture. Could anyone advise me on where to start. What I mean by that is would it be wiser to paint all of the ceilings first, then trim, then walls, or is there a given sequence of events to be followed for optimum performance?
Also, I have almost 3 years of repainting experience so am a fairly competent painter, so could anyone hazard a guess as to the time frame of a one man crew doing an average 2000sq ft house?
I do own a sprayer also.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 07-19-07, 05:21 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 118 Votes on 105 Posts
Here is the basic order I use

Spray primer on walls and ceiling shortly after drywall work is completed.
Trim carpenter goes in and installs woodwork.
Spray finish paint on ceiling after crown moulding is installed. Take down the doors and prime doors and trim.
Spray enamel on doors and brush enamel on crown moulding, door trim and windows.
Brush and roll walls then enamel base.
Touch up after carpet is installed.

Most new construction is priced in one of 2 different ways but almost always by sq footage price. The garage is rarely included in sq footage so basicall you paint it for free. Since you already know how to bid 1 room at a time you can multiply that by the various rooms in the house to get a rough idea. Exteriors are usually priced extra but not always. Your contract with the builder should specify just what is to be done [and maybe how]