High Gloss Paint

Old 08-08-07, 07:35 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy High Gloss Paint

Hello,
NOTE: I am new to DIY site and this forum - Please excuse my errors and omissions.

I am painting the bathroom in my very old mobile home.
The wood trim has been painted, I have primered it, and painted it today with high gloss paint.

Problem: the high gloss dried - but has brush stroke markes and other painting marks in it.... What should I have used to get the 'glass' smooth finish? Brush, pad, roller, etc????
( I have more trim to paint and would like to get that glass look.)

painter-n-training,
Jen

Sponsored Links
Old 08-08-07, 07:43 PM
I've always found higher gloss paints to be bad for showing brush marks - presumably because they show any sort of defect more readily than the flatter paints. However, using a top quality brush made for your type of paint (poly/nylon for latex, bristle for alkyd) and good quality paint is very important. Top quality paint has better leveling characteristics meaning that your brush marks should "flow out" as the paint dries.

Old 08-09-07, 06:08 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 120 Votes on 107 Posts
The only way to get absolutely NO brush marks is to not use a brush. That isn't to say you can't get a nice job with minimal brush marks. As mentioned above using the correct brush with a quality enamel helps a lot. Utilizing good brushing skill also helps. A roller may give you a better looking finish but it will leave a small amount of orange peel.

btw - welcome to the forums Jen

Old 08-09-07, 06:56 AM
I learned a few years back about using quality paint and it can't be stressed enough. With all the labor we put into preparation, its worth a few bucks extra to get good quality. Go to a paint store, not a big box store. They are invaluable for information and equipment.

Old 08-09-07, 07:51 AM
Some tips: