Estimating Amount of Paint for a job!??

Old 11-08-07, 12:18 PM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Estimating Amount of Paint for a job!??

Hello all,
I am a diy'er, I have a full time job as a surg tech at the local hospital, and the new surgeon I work w/ asked to see if I could paint 2 of his rooms in his brand new house. I said sure. Money will be good, but how do I estimate the amount of paint!? I don't know the sizes of the rooms yet, I am going over there tonight to look. He only wants the walls done, the ceiling is fine. The walls are a very bright red and an ugly puke green he said. Don't know why a contractor would paint them that color but oh well. Also, what should I charge. I am a good painter, I have a steady hand when cutting in. I will post back when I get the dimensions. Also I will have to prime each room and probably put 2 coats of paint on the walls. That is what I had to do when we bought our house and a room was an ugly bright blue!! THANKS

Sponsored Links
Old 11-08-07, 12:47 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 226 Votes on 201 Posts
Most paints cover approx 400 sq ft of smooth surface. Rough texture or porous substrate will require more paint.

I'm sure the previous paint contractor applied those colors because that was what the customer wanted. I've painted many colors that I wouldn't want in my house but...... to each his own

Be sure to specify quality coatings. Cheap paints often don't work or cover aws well as their quality counterpart.

What to charge - how much do you want to make? how much is he willing to pay?

Old 11-08-07, 02:56 PM
Well, I went and looked at the house!! HUGE HOUSE OF COURSE! It is a brand new house that was for sale but the seller decided to rent it out b/c it has been on the market for over a yr!! Its in a development. All I have to say is if my house looked like that after it was built the contractor and I would have some problems. Drywall is cracked the previous painter, well wow!!! Shotttty work!!!!