regal vs. super hide?

Old 03-26-08, 08:52 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question is there a diff between Regal and Super Hide?

Help! I think my painter has used all the wrong paints. I've always used BM regal eggshell finish. he is using the BM Super Hide. my walls are not that bad! any contractors or painters out there who can tell me the difference between the two types of paints??

Last edited by paintinggal; 03-26-08 at 09:17 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 03-27-08, 08:30 AM
C
Regal vs. Super hide

Let me prefess this by saying i am not a professional painter, but i just completed painting my enitre home and did a ton of research prior to painting. I used all Benjamin Moore Regal eggshell paint. The difference between the two is supposedly the Super hide is used as a builders grade which many contractors also use. I was told that if i am painting my own home to use the Regal, that is also their signature brand. There actually is a higher grade than that but it is rarely used, it is called Aura. The superhide is their lowest quality, then there is Superspec, then Regal, and finally Aura. Many people use the Superhide grade for ceilings. Benjamin Moore is so good that even their lowest quality paint is probably still better than most paints out there. Hope this helped

Last edited by cmisti66; 03-27-08 at 10:07 AM.
Old 03-27-08, 01:13 PM
D
There is a huge difference between the two and it's reflected in their price. Regal is about $35 to the painter and SH is about half that. The price difference is reflective of the dry-film performance difference. SH is designed for commercial work where price and easy application are the key drivers, not the performance of the film. In short, you will not be happy living with SH for very long.

Old 03-27-08, 01:32 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 330 Votes on 293 Posts
I don't often use BM coatings but know there is a big difference between their good paint and their cheapest line. Regal is one of their better coatings.