Steps to Prim Wall for Paint - In What Order?

Old 06-14-08, 07:43 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Steps to Prim Wall for Paint - In What Order?

I just removed the wallpaper and backing from my master bath. I'm left with drywall, little bits of glue that a I can not get off, and a whole in the wall about 1" x 4" that was discovered after removing the paper.

So my question is - what are the next steps I'm to take to prep the wall for painting?

I was told by the local Home Depot guy to use Guardz first, then to us joint compound to smooth out the wall, sand, prime then paint.

Another lady told me to repair the wall first, then too smooth out the wall, use a mixture of joint compound/latex paint/water to "skim" the wall (said I can use a roller with this solution since I'm not a pro at skimming), then sand, Guardz, prime then paint. She said that the joint compoud is very porous and that repairs should be under the Guardz - not over.

UGH - what are the proper steps?

Old 06-19-08, 01:18 PM
T
I was recently in a similar situation where I had to repair the wall in my living room before painting.

Take a look here:
http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=346962

What I did was put 2 coast of Guardz on the damaged area with about 24hrs between coats. I then used J/C to smooth out the wall. I primed again and was ready to paint. After painting, it is not even noticeable now. From my understanding like you said, J/C is very porous. That's why sealing it before and after will prevent any moisture from coming in contact with it.

I'm not at all a pro by any means, but my suggestion would be to:
1)Prime with Guardz
2)Use J/C
3)Sand
4)Prime
5)Paint

Hope this helps

Old 06-19-08, 04:11 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts