Primed over dark gray, painted white, looks blue

Old 11-25-08, 07:59 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Primed over dark gray, painted white, looks blue

My bathroom walls were a dark gray and my ceiling was white. I primed the walls and then painted the walls and celing the same shade of white (1 coat). The walls look like a blueish white and the celing is the exact shade of white I wanted.

Should I do anyother coat or will that not help get it to a more white shade?

Old 11-25-08, 10:23 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
It sounds like another coat is in order although because of the way the ceiling and walls reflect light differently, the 2 main not appear to match exactly.

Old 11-26-08, 05:09 AM
S
A second coat should do the trick just fine.

Precisely what paint are you using, by the way?

SirWired

Old 12-02-08, 08:07 PM
W
It definetly sounds like another coat will do the trick.

Old 12-11-08, 06:48 PM
S
Paint Tips

Hi, I'm an artist and I've found that a lot of people in the paint business are taught about a bunch of "rules" that they stick to without really being familiar with the nuances of color. (even pro painters and the people who work in paint stores). Here are things to consider:

1) Reflection: color reflects from all surfaces. Horizontal and vertical. If your paint color is white on the walls and blue-white on the ceiling but it's the same paint, then what is on your floor? Your floor is directly below your ceiling, so if your floor is blue in one room and brown wood in another, the ceilings will look distinctly different in each room even if they are painted exactly the same.

What is outside your windows? Green bushes? Blue sky? Grey house next door? You may find that those things are what is making your ceiling appear a different color than the walls when it's the same paint.