Painting over Varnished Wood Mouldings

Old 09-21-00, 08:34 AM
Visiting Guest
Cool

I need to paint baseboard mouldings that have been previously stained and varnished.

I DON'T WANT TO SAND & PRIME !

Is there a ONE-STEP way to do this ?? We want a WHITE HIGH-GLOSS finish....is there a paint product that will adhere to the varnish? How about oil-based paint ?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-21-00, 03:32 PM
Visiting Guest
I am sorry but being a profesional painter I would recomend the 2 things you don't want to do. If you are wanting a smooth finish there will be no way around light sanding (180 or 220 grit), and you might as well prime it for paint adhesion and to prevent bleeding, then you can use a quality oil or water based paint (I suggest oil, because of vacuum cleaners, feet, brooms, etc.)

If you want it to look nicer, use a paintable latex caulk and calk around the wall and joints using a wet finger to smooth, unless you have wallpaper then just the joints. After priming and before painting.

Don't forget to clean any oil, grease, dirt before you do anything.

[This message has been edited by Chipfo (edited September 21, 2000).]

Old 09-22-00, 03:42 AM
mikejmerritt
Visiting Guest
mbarrack, You have received A+ advice from Chipfo and would advise his methods. To address your question as it has been put to us, if you will, as Chipfo suggests "clean any oil, grease, dirt before you do anything" perhaps finishing by wiping with mineral spirits you can get by with using a waterborne enamel that will bond without primer and may to a large degree cover in a coat. Waterborne takes 7 days to fully cure, but is dry as you may find out in 15 minutes, so watch that vacuum for a week as far as scraping the base. Also, w/borne has no stain killing properties so anything that would bleed through latex paint will come through in a few days if not hours...Mike

[This message has been edited by mikejmerritt (edited September 22, 2000).]

Old 09-22-00, 07:10 PM
Visiting Guest