Why does everyone hate *some paint brands*?

Old 04-12-09, 10:12 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Why does everyone hate *some paint brands*?

I found this site by googling some information about the new BM paint natura, and saw an old thread where people were talking pretty negatively about Behr paint in comparison to BM and SW.

Can someone please explain this to me?

I've been painting for over 7 years, and I do it professionally on the side as well. Not only do I use paints from all 3 of these brands often, but I know several reps from each brand, and know quite a bit about the chemistry of each of these brands.

First off, their all premium paints. And in this particular situation it isn't a matter of "You get what you pay for". Lowe's valspar is even a premium paint, although I've only used it once or twice.

What do you guys not like about it? Consumer reports has rated Behr's Premium Plus the number 1 interior paint 5 out of the past 6 years.

You guys all talk about the price like Behr is so cheap so it must be trash. Home Depot buys Behr paint at about $17 a gallon and has a 30% mark up. Most ace's have buy BM paints for the same price but have a 60% mark up. So your paying more due to their markup.

Additionally, Behr and BM are both rated number 1 in consistency of quality. A lot of times, a gallon of SW paint bought from one store will be different than one bought at another store. They are notorious for not having consistency in their paint. Behr & BM both have 97% consistency ratings, so their toe to toe in that aspect.

In terms of coverage, they are both parallel. And in terms of painting darker colors, I've painted dark blues in one coat with a light touch up coat with Behr. Where as I've always needed 2 coats with BM.

ALSO! Behr has more titanium dioxide in each gallon than BM!