Painting Italian mirror frame [Pictures]

Old 06-17-09, 10:57 AM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Painting Italian mirror frame [Pictures]

Hello,

I am new to furniture painting so I am looking for some suggestion to paint an old mirror frame.

All I am reading is that I need to sand paper before, but with the design it is very difficult to reach all the corners.
  1. Is there a product I can use to spray on top and then brush off the dirt?
  2. Do I have to spray on prime before spraying on new paint?
  3. What paint should I go for and how many times should I spray it on? (I am looking for a white, high gloss finish)

Thanks for any help

Old 06-17-09, 12:58 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

#1 - don't understand

#2 - primer is used for raw surfaces, over finishes where paint might not bond well and to hide stains or anything that may make it hard for the finish paint to cover. You would want to use a primer on this frame.

#3 - the number of coats depends on how well the paint covers

Old 06-17-09, 01:51 PM
F
Thanks!
Regarding point 1 - I can´t use sandpaper on all the details (example the pearl-boarder) so I was thinking to clean it somehow so I get a "raw" finish to spray the new coat of paint to?

Or do I just spray on primer straight on top of the old paint?

Beer 4U2

Old 06-17-09, 01:55 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
As long as it's relatively clean it would be ok.

Old 06-17-09, 02:23 PM
B