Tips for painting a ceiling that spans multiple rooms?

Old 01-11-10, 06:27 AM
I
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Tips for painting a ceiling that spans multiple rooms?

Total newb to the forum, but I've had some experience painting smaller rooms and have had decent success. Now, however, I'm faced with a daunting task: after knowing our three little boys would destroy our common areas as they went from newborns to school-age kids (and boy did they do a good job!), it's time to repaint multiple rooms.

The walls aren't that problematic, other than the sheer number of repairs, it's the ceilings -- or rather, The Ceiling. The Ceiling spans across the LR, kitchen, casual eating area, DR, foyer, hallway, and there are no natural demarcations between these rooms.

Honestly, I'm not sure I could possibly cut-in all these surfaces in one day, but I also don't want to have huge lap marks. I'd like to paint The Ceiling in a flat off-white, same color for all rooms, and am looking for some best-practice advice on how to do it with a minimal amount of paint lap marks.

Should I do one room at a time and feather the very edge? Should I do a hard line and lightly sand whatever lap marks I get? Hire a pro with a sprayer? Add false framing to divide the rooms?!? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Old 01-11-10, 08:28 AM
B
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Hi ilikebeer:

Sounds like you really have an open floor plan.

Before we moved the Boston area we had a similar situation to what you described. I didn't paint the ceiling in every one of the areas at the same time and it didn't seem to present a problem. In our situation, there were different lights and reflections from windows and shadows. It didn't really look like a continuous flow.

Maybe you don't have as much of a problem as you believe.