Painted trim and it isn't sticking!

Old 09-07-10, 10:24 AM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Painted trim and it isn't sticking!

This is my first time choosing what I want and doing what I want to a room. It is a two toned room with trim running along the middle of the wall all around and there is trim at the bottom of the wall by the floor. I painted the wall first and let it dry. Then i put my blue painting tape on the concrete so it wouldn't bleed and also on the wall so the white paint for the trim wouldn't bleed onto the wall. A few hours after painting the trim (through out the day i painted 3 coats) i decided to take off the tape to see how it looked. When i started pulling the tape slowly the white paint on the trim started pulling right off with it. Not the entirecoat but just whatever the blue tape was touching. Im so upset because i worked really hard on it. I dont know why it would stick because i used the same brand of paint on the wall and it stuck fine. Is it the trim? The trim had that real wood look to it.

Also I was wondering if there is some sort of clear coat that I can paint over the plum paint that i used on the wall i'm already noticing that after three coats it chips easily. Is there something to put over that wall paint so it won't chip as easily?

Please send any comments or suggestions. I need them very badly!

Old 09-07-10, 02:05 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Do you know what type of paint was originally on the woodwork?
http://forum.doityourself.com/painti...latex-oil.html

Latex paint takes longer to cure than it does to dry. It can be up to a week or more before the latex paint fully cures. Tape can be problematic, especially when applied over uncured paint. Also the paint on the wall/wood that is also on the tape forms a bond. Unless this bond is cut, there is a likelihood that the paint on the substrate will pull off along with the tape