Charging too much?

Old 01-20-11, 04:44 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Charging too much?

Hi,

This is my first time on this forum, but I was hoping that some people with more experience painting for hire than myself might be able to help me out.

I have done a fair amount of painting growing up, but mostly in places that I have lived so I haven't been paid that often. A friend and I are now painting the interior of a house for some friends of my parents. We are both very proficient painters, but not professionals. We take it seriously though and have enough experience to know what we are doing.

We agreed on charging $27/hr total, which seems pretty reasonable if it is for two people. The first room we did, and are about to finish, is a bathroom that is 8 by 7, with 8 ft. ceilings. But before painting, we had to strip wallpaper, sand off glue, caulk the corners and apply quite a bit of spackle in various holes in the wall. It was a pain, and took about 14 hours before we could even start painting, and we were working hard!

We've now put on a clear coat and a white primer, and will put the final color on tomorrow. We have also done trim, (windows and door frames) as well as the two doors. After we put the final coat on we'll probably be at 27-28 hours, which is around $750.

Like I said, the hourly rate seems reasonable, and we have been working our butts off, not slacking at all, and the prep was a pain, but that just seems like a really large number for one bathroom.

Does this seem reasonable, or would most people have some sort of price ceiling in their quote? Thanks for any and all advice, cheers.

Drew

Old 01-21-11, 05:00 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums Drew!

What does the customer say about the cost?