Painting bare cement floor? What paint type?

Old 05-12-11, 02:32 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Painting bare cement floor? What paint type?

During a project in our bedroom we pulled up the old carpet and saw that the cement floor was mostly of smooth texture yet it had kicked up some cement dust under the carpet and pad. Well after awhile an idea dawned on us to not replace the carpet, pull up the carpet tack boards, and paint the floor a cool color. If we decide to carpet later the painted surface wouldn't generate so much or at all cement dust.

Now the question and I'm no paint expert....What kind of paint do I use. Exterior porch latex? Would latex take some traffic? Exterior oil based? Because it's oil does it soak in and hold better? Should I prime first? If so with what?

Thanks in advance

Old 05-12-11, 03:51 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
I would never paint any cement. If you insist, there is paint made for it. Go to a local paint store, not Home Depot.

Old 05-12-11, 05:19 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
A lot depends on what you want the finished product to look like. There are acid stains for concrete that look real nice. Unless I'm mistaken, they require a sealer over the stain. You could also use a solid color concrete stain. Porch and deck enamel or floor enamel is another choice, it would require two coats [check the label but most use a thinned down version of the top coat for the primer] Enamel would be extra slick if liquid gets spilled on it.

Old 05-12-11, 07:03 PM
N
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post