Lead-paint misery

Old 08-19-11, 05:34 PM
Lead-paint misery

Hi! We recently bought a lovely old house that needs some work; somehow, we neglected to have the home inspected for lead-based paint. And we had no idea just how expensive it could be to hire a professional to help with abatement.

Most of the paint *inside* the home is in pretty good shape, and lower in lead than the outside. The exterior, though, is in pretty miserable shape; there are only a couple-three layers of paint out there, and they're peeling all the way down to bare wood.

The back door had an enclosed porch, so it seemed like a pretty good place to try to figure out how to remove the paint. I sealed it all up, picked up some RemoVall 320, and went to work.

It was miserable. I've never tried anything like this before, so I knew there would be some wrinkles to work out, but this is just not working very well. The stuff comes off in gluey wads, sticking to *everything*--the tools, the bucket I'm collecting globs in, the Visqueen, and especially my gloves. It's working, after a fashion, but it's incredibly slow going, and the paint does not come off all that easily. It's bad enough in the mud-room, and I hesitate to even think about what it's going to be like on the outside--let alone the bathroom (which *does* have LBP, and is also the only bathroom in the house).

Any tips? What am I doing wrong here? Is there a better way to do this? We've got a seven-year-old and a six-month-old, so we really want this taken care of...

Sponsored Links
Old 08-20-11, 03:04 AM
Not that it is going to help you a lot, but disclosure at time of sale about lead based paint is mandatory. The old "I didn't know it was there" excuse doesn't cut it, especially on older homes. There should have also been a bank inspection if financed and that inspector knew there was lead, but covered his eyes.
Real Estate Disclosure | Lead in Paint, Dust, and Soil | US EPA
Lots of articles out there.

Bud

Old 08-20-11, 07:58 AM