Walmart Paint... is it worth it?

Old 09-18-12, 11:25 AM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Walmart Paint... is it worth it?

Hey guys, a little new to this forum so bare with me.

I'm looking for some interior paint to change up my apartment a bit, and I noticed Walmart had a paint section, but when I asked the attendant at the store, he wasn't that helpful.

It's my first time painting, so I don't really know what to look for in a paint brand. They had a lot of colors I liked in Glidden, so I was wondering if it is any good? Or would you guys recommend something else? I'm just sort of on a budget, so nothing too pricey.

Again, thanks for all the help ahead of time!

Sponsored Links
Old 09-18-12, 11:35 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Apartment? You're a tenant? Have you talked to the landlord about this?

Assuming that's not an issue, I find you get better advice and supplies in a paint store than in the paint department in a larger store.

Old 09-18-12, 11:39 AM
C
No issues with the landlord, thanks for asking, and thanks for the advice!

Old 09-18-12, 11:44 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Something to keep in mind is every paint manufacturer makes different lines of paint and I would not use anyone's bottom of the line. Typically, a big store with a paint department is expected to have good prices and does so by stocking lower end products. You're going to pay more for good stuff at a paint store but it will work better and, IMO, is worth the cost. I expect to pay more than $30/gallon for my paint.

Old 09-18-12, 11:50 AM
C
Wow, I did not know that. Thanks for the heads up, mitch17!

Old 09-18-12, 02:27 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 300 Votes on 266 Posts