Can I paint onto plasterboard?

Old 12-22-14, 10:41 AM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I paint onto plasterboard?

Hi, I am a complete novice when it comes to DIY, i've just had my kitchen renovated and now my dining room has new plasterboarding put up and sealed in order to strengthen old boards and cover woodchip paper that refused to strip.

Name:  095.jpg
Views: 3073
Size:  25.9 KB

I've added a picture of what it looks like just now. Is this paintable? and if so, how?

Thank you very much

Old 12-22-14, 12:26 PM
Received 339 Votes on 305 Posts
Yes, of course. You say it was already sealed? Like with a primer ? If so then just choose your color and paint. If it hasn't been sealed then you may want to use a primer first or a sealer such as Zinsser .

Old 12-22-14, 12:38 PM
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
What you have is called Sheetrock in the U.S. and that is what is on walls of 99% of the houses built in the last 50+ years. Just curious has the UK not switched from mostly plaster to Sheetrock (AKA Gypsum board- plaster board)?

Old 12-22-14, 01:09 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 98 Votes on 86 Posts
Prime it first and then paint.

Old 12-22-14, 02:31 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
Definitely use a dedicated latex primer and then 1-2 coats of latex finish paint. I wouldn't trust a primer in the paint coating over bare drywall.

Old 12-22-14, 03:09 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I really don't know, I've just always known it to be plasterboard. It certainly feels very sturdy in comparison to the other walls in the house. It certainly looks like what i've always known plasterboard to look like. But maybe it is Gypsum.

It hasn't been sealed by a primer of any kind no, I just meant its been taped/gauzed over the cracks between the boards and all the screws have been covered.
I know I need to sand it down a bit and then brush off the dust before I do anything.
My concern really was what the finish of the paint would be like?