Prep work to paint gorilla glue

Old 05-07-15, 05:59 AM
A
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Prep work to paint gorilla glue

I've used gorilla glue to repair an interior window sill. After I sand, what prep cleaning is needed before primering? And how much dry time after cleaning until i should prime?

Old 05-07-15, 07:00 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
Latex primers/paints don't generally adhere great to glue. I'd use either an oil base primer or a pigmented shellac like Zinnser's BIN. Latex enamel is fine for the top coat.

I'm not sure how long you need to let the glue dry but you do want to make sure it's had plenty of time to dry.

Old 05-07-15, 12:22 PM
A
Thanks marksr. I have zinnser 123 bullseye water based primer. No good?

So today I sanded the gorilla glue. This is my first time working with this, and I have little painting experience, so I must say that the glue after being sanded, is super porous, and soft, and I can rub spots bare with my fingernail if I scrape at it enough. Is this normal???? I'm wondering if I should just sand all of it off and use something else.

Old 05-07-15, 12:25 PM
A
I want to add that I'm not going for great cosmetics here, but rather just a solid coat that will hold up. It's a window sill on an interior of my NYC apartment. It's old and ragged. Doesn't need to look perfect, as long as the glue and paint adhere properly, I'm happy.

Old 05-07-15, 12:32 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
The 123 might be ok although a solvent based primer would definitely be better. You could try it and if the primer crawls any - switch to a solvent based primer.

Wood glue isn't normally used as a filler or expected to be sanded. If you post a pic or two of the window sill we'd have a better idea of what you are trying to do - http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html

Old 05-07-15, 12:48 PM
A
Name:  pic.jpg
Views: 3429
Size:  15.3 KB