Help with wall cracks after wallpaper removal and painting

Old 12-10-15, 10:49 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with wall cracks after wallpaper removal and painting

Hello: This is my first time posting here. I hope I am posting in the correct place. I would appreciate any opinions as to what I did wrong here and what might be involved in fixing it. A couple of years ago I removed wall paper from two outside walls of our guestroom. The house was built in 1982. We are the second owners. The wallpaper had been there since we bought it and, I suspect, from the beginning. I removed it by squirting water on it and peeling. I was a tough job to get it all off along with the glue although I was satisfied I had removed all of the latter. I had the impression that the wallpaper was applied directly to the drywall as there seemed to be no paint layer that I could see although my husband insists there would have been a coat of generic new house paint. Anyway, when the paper came of it was down to drywall and, in many places down to the brown layer of the drywall.I let the drywall dry out before patching (don't remember how long but at least a few days). I did a lot of patching with CGC premixed low dust drywall compound. I basically mudded large areas, sanded, remudded, repeat. I don't remember exactly but this occurred over at least a couple of weeks and painting wasn't until a couple of weeks after that.I wanted there to be lots of time for the mud to dry. Before painting I did primer with Behr premium plus Interior 73 drywall primer and sealer (100% latex acrylic). Then I painted two coats of Behr Premium Plus Ultra Stain Blocking Paint and Primer in One (flat). I thought it turned out well.