Zinsser Cover Stain

Old 01-05-16, 05:47 PM
Zinsser Cover Stain

Hi I'm new to the DIY forum and glad I came across this site. Hoping that some of you paint guru's might be able to help me out. I am currently getting ready to do some painting in the house and my trim and doors are painted oil base. I plan on repainting them with SW Pro Classic after sanding(deglossing) and priming. I planned on priming with Zinsser Cover Stain. Question I have is I also have some fresh drywall and bare wood shelves that needs priming. I plan on painting the drywall with latex and the shelves with SW Pro Classic. Can I also use the Cover Stain on the drywall and bare wood as I'd prefer to use one primer instead of buying a couple different ones. Any recommendations or info you could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks In Advance

Bigmitch

Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-16, 07:44 PM
Group Moderator
Upvotes Received: 127
I would not recommend you use that primer on the drywall. Stick with that primer on your oil painted trim only.

Which brings up the question of why you think the shelves and drywall need to be primed. Is it bare drywall? Or maybe a repaired area? If not, things that are already painted do not "require" a primer. The only reason to prime something like that that was previously painted would be if it was some dark or hard to cover color than needed to be blocked, or maybe if it's been colored with crayons or markers or such.

Old 01-06-16, 03:15 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Upvotes Received: 73
How much drywall needs to be primed? I agree that a latex primer is preferred over oil base for bare drywall but the cover stain could be used to prime bare drywall. It would likely need a light sanding prior to applying the latex top coat.

almost forgot welcome to the forums!

Old 01-06-16, 06:46 AM