T111 siding issues with cabot solid oil stain not adhering after many coats

Old 08-09-16, 07:19 PM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
T111 siding issues with cabot solid oil stain not adhering after many coats

I have T111 siding which is really a form of plywood. I have been using cabot solid oil based stain for many years. It is getting hard to find because of the environmental issues. The last time it lasted 1 year and started to crack an peel. It is strange that some parts are fine and some are peeling and splitting.

The current plan is to do this:

1. scrap and sand the bad parts.
2. use cabot Problem-Solver® Acrylic Primer #8022 on all areas.
Cabot Stain Problem Solver Wood Primer | Cabot
3. wait a day for the primer above to dry.
4. apply cabot solid acrylic stain.
Siding Stain — Wood Siding & Acrylic Wood Stain | Cabot

I was told that going from solid stain to the acrylic primer and acrylic stain would make the siding more able to expand and eliminate the splitting. It would also hold the color longer than the solid oil stain that often fades.

Old 08-10-16, 03:23 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts
Welcome to the forums Larry!

Stains don't generally peel. When they do it's normally a prep issue. What type of prep do you do prior to staining? How long did the previous coats last?

I agree with switching to a latex stain. They do tend to hold their color better than oil and should protect just as long.

Old 08-11-16, 04:23 PM
L
Prep work

Thanks for the reply. Previously I just power washed the siding. Last time for whatever reason it did not take. I always sand the bad spots first. I have a two story house and sanding is a pain for me. Do you have any recommendations on sanding. I usually just do it with a sanding block but this time the job is massive. Thanks for your time.

Old 08-12-16, 03:39 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator