Removing Solid Color Stain from Stamped Concrete

Old 10-10-17, 10:43 AM
L
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Removing Solid Color Stain from Stamped Concrete

Hi All!
I am at my wits end and was hoping someone could offer some guidance.

I spent a day using a product H&C Color Top Solid Color Concrete Stain on my stamped concrete patio, but after we were done, it was not the right product. We were hoping for more of a semi-transparent look. I'm new to this and clearly I chose the wrong product. This went on more like a paint, not a stain.

Anyway, I would like to use semi transparent stain instead, but my question is HOW DO I GET THIS STUFF OFF? I tried a pressure washer (2300psi), but only small parts were coming up.

Does anyone recommend a cement stain stripper that would work to get it off my patio? Its only been on there for about 4 days or so.

THANK YOU for any help you can provide...
Tim

Sponsored Links
Old 10-10-17, 01:01 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 319 Votes on 283 Posts
Welcome to the forums Tim!

Is it the solvent based H&C stain? if so Xylene might allow you to scrub it off, otherwise you'd need a paint stripper.

Old 10-12-17, 12:26 PM
L
Thank you for responding. The stain is water based... I wonder the best method of "scrubbing it off". Just old fashioned elbow grease? Or is there a tool that I should use to expedite the scrubbing? Just curious what "the pros" would use if you had to get this off...

Thanks again for your insight!

Old 10-12-17, 12:31 PM
Group Moderator
Received 675 Votes on 624 Posts
Paint stripper... follow the directions and leave it sit, then power washer. Might need to do it twice if once doesn't cut it.

Old 10-12-17, 12:46 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Xylene won't do a lot with the waterbased stain, I agree with using a stripper. Scrubbing with denatured alcohol would probably work but a paint stripper would be quicker/easier.

Old 10-12-17, 03:32 PM
Received 370 Votes on 345 Posts
Latex stripper??