Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Did a slight amount of damage to a wall and need to fix it.

11-13-17, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)  
Did a slight amount of damage to a wall and need to fix it.

I tried to hang out something with one of those "wall-safe" hanging strips, but I then quickly had second thoughts and tried to remove, only for a small chunk of paint and drywall to come loose. I'm renting here and I live with my landlord, so I'd want to get this fixed as soon as possible, since it was my fault. I've been looking up information online and any help would be reassuring, as this is my first time doing anything like this. I've added a couple of photos of what happened.

Thanks in advance.

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

TN

11-14-17, 04:05 AM   #2 (permalink)  
Ideally you'd coat the exposed gypsum with either an oil base primer or Zinnser's Gardz first but not bigger that it is I'd be tempted to skip that step. You need to fill the divot with joint compound or spackling, let it dry, recoat if needed, sand level, prime and paint.
Do you know what brand and color was used on the wall?

retired painter/contractor avid DIYer

11-14-17, 05:05 AM   #3 (permalink)  
When would I put on the waterproofing? Would it be the first step.

Also, there are several cans of paint downstairs. I think one of them was used in this room. If I can't find, I'll take the chips I have to Home Depot or something to have them match it.

Forum Topic Moderator

TN

11-14-17, 05:30 AM   #4 (permalink)  
What waterproofing??