Aluminum patio furniture - powder coat or paint?

Old 05-26-19, 11:12 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Aluminum patio furniture - powder coat or paint?

Hello:

I have a nice heavy aluminum patio furniture set. It’s over 15/yrs old and stating to show wear. (The wear is specifically to the paint fading and dulling.)

I think this was originally powder coated. A few small areas are starting to flake. But all in all the current coat is still in pretty good shape, in regards to adhesion to the aluminum.

So, I want to cover over the coat that is already on the furniture.

Looking for recommendations; should I try to powder coat it or use something like rustoleum spray paint?

I have never powder coated any.

If the recommendation is powder coat, I see a powder coating system at harbor freight for $69. Any thoughts if this would do the job? Again I have never done anything like this before. Does this process use a lot of paint/powder and does it start to get expensive. The videos I have looked at, I seems to use a lot of paint to accomplish coverage.

If we go with rustoleum, should I prime the current coat already on the furniture? I will be paint it as close as possible to the current color. Again, there are just a few spots where the original coat/paint has come off.

So, to powder or to paint, that is the question.

Any advice on either method would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
kpierce

Old 05-27-19, 02:28 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 832 Upvotes on 729 Posts
Painting would be a lot simpler. Most powder coat systems require the powder to be baked which is something a diyer can't do with large items. I don't know but suspect powder coats that aren't baked won't dry to as hard a finish.

Old 05-27-19, 03:59 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,144 Upvotes on 1,920 Posts