Varnished/shellacked wood trim?

Old 06-04-01, 07:01 AM
Visiting Guest
I'm redoing a room, and want to paint the wood trim for the first time. The house is 40 years old, and all the trim still has it's original finish -- something clear, that lets the wood grain be seen.

I would like to use a high gloss white enamel paint (oil based) on this trim & the door. Will this work all right? Do I need some special primer or coating first, or is sanding lightly all that is needed?

Does it matter if the current finish is shellac or varnish? If so, how do I tell which it is? (Yes, I'm very new at this.)

Thank you for any advice.

Old 06-06-01, 06:39 PM
mikejmerritt
Visiting Guest
SusanBeth, The longer I'm in this the more I hate to see old stained trim go under paint but I know stained trim is out. Regardless of what is on the trim now sand lightly with 220 grit sandpaper and prime with an oil primer like KILZ Original and that will be a great base to work with.....Mike

Old 06-06-01, 09:00 PM
Visiting Guest
Thank you, Mike. I know what you mean by wood trim in general, but this is plain as can be and utterly charmless.

<adds oil primer to shopping list>

Old 06-06-01, 09:05 PM
Sonnie Layne
Visiting Guest
Mike's right,

As long as you don't go with some exotic finish and the undercoat happens to be shellac...but... Mike, you'l be pleased to know the following: