Painting over stained cabinets

Old 02-03-20, 08:15 AM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Painting over stained cabinets

I'm just getting started on this project. I used a deglosser and did some light sanding with 220 grit paper. But the problem is it took at least 5 or 6 coats of white for the dark stain not to show thru. I started with about 3 coats of KILZ and the rest were finish coats. Does anyone have any tips to help cut back on how many coats I need to apply????

I did notice that using a brush vs a roller was getting better coverage, so I think I will do my primer coats using just a brush and see if that helps.

Attached Images  
Old 02-03-20, 09:08 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,152 Upvotes on 1,927 Posts
I always use an oil based stain blocking primer like Zinsser Cover Stain. Water based formulations from any manufacturer just don't work as well.

Old 02-03-20, 09:40 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Ditto on using a solvent based primer, it insures good adhesion.

I normally apply 1 coat of primer and 2 coats of enamel with a light sanding between coats. Better quality paints cover better than the cheaper ones. I suppose the skill of the applicator plays a part too.

Old 02-03-20, 10:06 AM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Good tip. The "Cover Stain" product says you don't need to sand. Do you sand when you do stained cabinets?

Old 02-03-20, 01:02 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
A light scuff sanding is never a bad idea, just be careful not to sand through any layer.

Old 02-13-20, 02:33 PM
P
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post