Do you change out your brush after x minute? Rollers?

Old 03-18-23, 11:21 AM
E
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Do you change out your brush after x minute? Rollers?

I'm a very intermittent painter around the house. So I forget things from the last time.

I just cut in a closet. took about 1 hour.,the full length of the bristles (along with some of the handle / my hand : ) get paint on them - painting overhead, the paint in the front of the brush flows down towards the handle?, etc.

1) Would you say that's to be expected?

And that paint all around the brush starts drying out. Overall, the brush gets stiffer, I might get a dried / gooey piece of paint at the tip of the brush and I have to pick it off the brush or wall.

2) All that sound unavoidable / expected?

3) Do you get another brush after x minutes typically? I cleaned up this brush and will reuse it once it dries - I'm not tossing them after 1 use.

some of the brushes say polyester. several I just got tell me they type of wood of the handle (birch).... but don't tell me the bristle material! But it says it's for oil and latex. And the tips are thinner than farther back

4) It's an operator issue, not wrong bristle material, right?

And I think this is the same case with rollers - paint gets on the frame, starts to dry then gets back on the rolller as a gooey piece : )

Do you change rollers after x minutes?

THANKS!

Top Answer

03-19-23, 03:43 AM
marksr
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 832 Upvotes on 729 Posts
Normally I'll use the same brush/roller until the job/day is done. I have painted in extreme heat where it was prudent mid day to stick the brush in a bucket of water and get a another brush to finish the day [and then wash both]

I suspect your issues are mostly in your painting technique. When you load your brush you should pat each side of the brush against the work pot to remove the excess paint. Occasionally you need to rake the brush across the rim of the brush to remove any build up.