Ragrolling

Old 11-01-01, 12:00 PM
yvonne2
Visiting Guest
Question

Hi,

Could anyone please give me some advise on how to ragroll,what does it involve exactly, I'm a complete novice & dont have a clue.

Someone suggested I try it in my bathroom but, failed to explain how to go about it.

Thanx.

Old 11-05-01, 02:10 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I favor subtractive approach...

First apply the base coat and let it dry. Then apply the top coat (I use a glaze but any paint will work). Before it dries I ragroll it to remove some of the top coat. I use a chamois.

Others prefer to do an additive approach - ie, apply the topcoat with the rag instead of removing it.

The big boxes have many kinds of roller sleeves available to make it easier to do. The sleeve style affects the final look.

Old 11-05-01, 04:28 AM
yvonne2
Visiting Guest
Wink

Hi BobF,

Thanks for your advise, very much appreciated.
Could you tell me, is it easier to put the glaze on & then roll it off or, is it easier to dip the rag & then apply.

Would appreciate your advise. (Again)

Many Thanks.

Old 11-06-01, 01:03 AM
B
I like to remove glaze with the rag..

I haven't done that many to really say. Doing it by hand, I like to put the glaze on and then remove it by ragrolling. However, you have to work on small areas and work quickly.

One of my sisters-in-law uses the ragroller sleeves and finds it easier to apply the glaze with the rag.

Perhaps someone that has done both will chime in.

Old 11-06-01, 02:26 AM
yvonne2
Visiting Guest
Wink

Hi BobF,

Thanks very much for that advise, I think I'll be daring & have a go, I wont know if I dont try.

Thanks.

Old 11-07-01, 12:57 AM
B
don't be afraid of it

Don't be afraid to try. It will turn out just fine. At worst, you will just need to repaint. More than likely, you will be the envy of the neighborhood.