mitre cuts

Old 12-27-99, 11:01 PM
Visiting Guest

I am doing moldingsand I am not good with mitre cut - I have a hand saw and mitre box, My cust are always off!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-28-99, 08:27 AM
Visiting Guest
AL: A mitre box and a had saw just won't do it. The problem is that there are too many variables. The slots in the box have play in them, the saw may be substandard, and your
hand and arm may not always work in a straight line. If you are doing mitre cutting, I would suggest buying a mitre saw.
The are relatively inexpensive, and you can get a fairly good one for around $200.00. You can get the top of the line for $590.00
Good Luck, Jack the Contractor

Old 12-30-99, 08:08 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool

Check to make sure your door or window or whatevery you are putting molding around is square. This is a common mistake --- you may think your cuts are coming out at the wrong angle, and all along what you are trying to work with is the "wrong angle".

KW

Old 12-30-99, 10:30 PM
Visiting Guest
KW:
It does not make any difference of your window is square or not. You always cut molding to fit what ever you are putting it around. Jack the Contractor

Old 01-26-00, 04:43 PM
Visiting Guest
I am also working on putting crown molding in a bedroom, and was wondering if hardware stores will pre-cut it for you (if you give them the measurements)? Or do I need to invest in the mitre saw myself?

Old 01-26-00, 09:50 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool