Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

?? about lumber and stair repair

MD

02-07-03, 05:56 AM   #1  
?? about lumber and stair repair

I need to repair 2 steps and in general increase the support of two 23 yr. old sets of stairs in my split level. I'm a newbie at this home repair stuff, but have had to put a lot of money into plumbing repairs so would like to try this myself.

One problem is a riser that had a big knot below which the board cracked. In addition, the tread was cut a bit short and doesn't quite meet the stringer. The other problem step is missing the wedges between the tread and the stringer, so the step rocks when stepped on.

Now my questions:

(1) The stairs and stringers look like pine to me. At Home Depot I see both pine and oak treads and risers, but I think of pine as a soft wood and oak is expensive. Would a thick (how thick?)plywood be any cheaper and just as good or better than the pine, or should I use the pine?

(2) I'm also thinking about putting in either a carrier or an additional stringer on one side. After looking for a "stringer board" in the Home Depot stair section , I figured out that regular lumber is being used. Again, is pine the wood of choice? I'm guessing that 1" thickness would be ok for an additional stringer but 2" for a carrier?

Thanks to all.

P.S. The stairs are carpeted so grain and appearance are not a concern.

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

02-08-03, 11:54 AM   #2  
Woodsong
Re: ?? about lumber and stair repair