Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Paneling and Trim
Reload this Page >

Newbie with TONS of picture frame molding questions!!

Old 05-15-05, 04:03 PM

I'm about to embark upon putting up three large picture frame molding to help break up a big wall. The moldings will be 4 x 5 ft. Now.........I know I want them white. A bunch of questions: do I buy them already painted or primed (then paint them with glossy before putting them up)? Do I cut them BEFORE painting them? Do I trust Home Depot or Lowes to make the exact cuts for me? I have a friend who can lend me a nice mitre saw (electric) but I have never used one before. Do I paint the walls inside and outside the framing AFTER or before the framing? I'm pretty sure after because I'll have to caulk around the molding and I can paint after that's dry. And, what's the best caulk to use that will dry quickly enough so I can start taping off and painting within 2 or 3 days? THANKS!!!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-15-05, 06:26 PM
Group Moderator
>>do I buy them already painted or primed (then paint them with glossy before putting them up)?

If you can get them preprimed, that's usually helpful. If not, it's no big deal. You will just have to sand them and prime them yourself.

>>Do I cut them BEFORE painting them?

No. Paint the linear lengths the color you want them before cutting them to length. That way you will only have to fill nail holes and touch up the trim once you have it installed.

>>Do I trust Home Depot or Lowes to make the exact cuts for me?

Absolutely not. Cut it yourself. If your 3 "picture frames" will be roughly 4'x5', either get 3pc 8' and 3pc 10' or get 6 pc 9'. Be sure you allow some extra length on the end of each cut for waste. Depending on the lengths available, you might want to adjust your sizes accordingly so that you don't end up with a lot of scrap.

>>I have a friend who can lend me a nice mitre saw (electric) but I have never used one before.