Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Fitting Beadboard Around Existing Window/Door Casings

MD

06-30-06, 06:10 PM   #1  
Fitting Beadboard Around Existing Window/Door Casings

Hello All - I am looking to install some beadboard in a bedroom of ours. I have been reading do it yourself installation instructions as well as watching instructional videos, but can't seem to get a good grasp on how to handle the window and door casings, as well as the existing baseboard.

Can anyone offer some additional detailed instructions on how to properly handle this? Thanks!

Last edited by pittpanther; 07-01-06 at 05:14 AM.

Sponsored Links

MA

06-30-06, 08:03 PM   #2  
Hi:

I am a remodeling contractor here on Cape Cod.

I am not sure what type of beadboard you plan on using but I usually use 3/8" Plybead paneling that has 2" OC beads as well as shiplaped edge joints. Can't remember if it is made by Wayerhauser or GP, but your lumber yard should be able to help. You should set this atop your existing baseboard after removing the shoe moulding. You will need to plumb the beads vertically, and then scribe to any out of level baseboard. Abut the door casings and caulk any gaps with an acrylic latex caulk when complete. I usually leave a slight gap for expansion for the caulk to absorb. At the windows, I would use a piece of the paneling as a guide to cut the rear of the sill extensions using a Japanese pullsaw (Shark makes one)to accomodate the thickness of the paneling, then abut the window casings. I would probably remove the apron, then reinstall atop the paneling. You could try to scribe around the apron, but it would be more work, and probably not turn out very well.