Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Paneling and Trim
Reload this Page >

Need some help/advice with Craftsman-Style Wainscoting Project

Old 02-01-14, 07:12 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Hello all,

I'm planning on undertaking a wainscoting project in our dining room sometime soon (i'm not a pro, just a DIYer), and I had a few questions as I'd like to try to do this as correctly as possible.

I've read through the thread below and it was informative, but I still have some questions/concerns, and didn't want to post in a thread that was years old.

Need help with craftsman style wainscoting design

I think we're looking to do a craftsman-like wainscot...nothing too ornate. I'm thinking of a higher style, 54" or thereabouts -- about 2/3 the ceiling height. I haven't decided yet, but may just draw it on the wall and see what looks and feels right.

-----------------
Assumptions/Facts
-----------------
1) It will be painted, so I've got a little more flexibility regarding materials and fudge-factor, should a cut not be perfect.

2) I was thinking of using 1/2" MDF for the rails/stiles. From what I've read, the 1/2" reveal for wainscoting is pretty standard. This should allow me to terminate right into my casing without issue, though 3/4" would also work.

3) My casing is 1"D x 3.5"W

4) My baseboard is 11/16"D x 6"H. I am/will be using plinth blocks for the casing to base transitions.

5) There will be some type of top cap, though I don't know if it will be a plate rail. Need to determine how to terminate at the casing, as the cap will be wider than 1"

As for the methods of doing the wainscoting, I've seen/read about the following:

-----------
Approach #1
-----------
Rails and stiles framing the existing drywall - no panels in the middle or behind. This technique would result in painting the wall to match the rails/stiles.