Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Crown Molding - Calculating miter/bevel settings for l45 degree inside angle

AL

01-03-15, 06:26 PM   #1  
Crown Molding - Calculating miter/bevel settings for l45 degree inside angle

I'm having problems calculating the miter and bevel settings for 145 degree inside angles over bay windows. The crown is 5 1/4" with a 38 degree spring angle.

I have access to dual bevel, sliding compound 12 inch Dewalt 780 and can cut nested or on the flat. No problems so far with cutting inside and outside 90 degree corners but the bay is getting the best of me trying to calculate the correct miter and bevel settings.

Thanks for the help.

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

VA

01-03-15, 06:38 PM   #2  
I have always done the upside down and backwards method - self taught and it has served me well. I think that trial and error may be used to zero in on your optimal settings. Start with upside down/backward and instead of the saw set at 45 degrees, set it a wide 22.5 degrees and make cuts to both outside corners from opposite directions. See how they fit and adjust until you zero in. Is this stained molding or PFJ to be painted?

Forum Topic Moderator

CAL

01-03-15, 07:10 PM   #3  
Using the upside down and backwards, it should be about 27.5 degrees. Cut a few small pieces and see how it fits.
This is assuming you can place the molding against the fence as it would be attached to wall.

Brian
Cal Contractor

Group Moderator

NE

01-03-15, 07:36 PM   #4  
Yep, upside down and backwards, "in position" against the fence. No bevel adjustment that way, (which is tough to adjust and be accurate). You only have to worry about bisecting the miter which you can figure out with any old scrap of wood.

AL

01-03-15, 09:23 PM   #5  
Thanks for the help.