Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

charging the AC


elihu's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 82

08-20-02, 01:15 PM   #1  
charging the AC

I am having a hard time charging my AC. It's R-134a, and the I'm using a can with the charging attachment on it. Is it supposed to charge very slowly or am I doing it wrong?

Israel

P.S. The mini-van is doing well after the head gasket job I did--thanks for the help! Now the tranny's starting to slip. It's always something.

 
Sponsored Links
dirty dan's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 438
LA

08-20-02, 09:59 PM   #2  
Are you recharging a system or just topping it off? Give auto info and more details of problem and you'll probably get more responses.

R-134 is a lot more particular system than the old R-12. You can't just "shove it in there" like we used to do. If your having problems you either have too much R-134 in it already, have problems with your AC or problems with your equipment.

 
Dan Meyer's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

08-21-02, 05:25 AM   #3  
Dan Meyer
Refrigerant just CANNOT be added without gauges!!!!! And as Dirty Dan mentioned, tell us

 
Joe_F's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

08-21-02, 06:13 PM   #4  
Joe_F
WHOA NELLEY! Stop it right there.

As others have mentioned, we need more detail.

A/C work is NOT for the home mechanic without the proper tools and procedures!!

Also, you have a leak if you have to add refrigerant. That must be found and fixed as well.

 
elihu's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 82

08-22-02, 07:53 AM   #5  
I was topping off, I guess. The AC didn't seem as cold as it should be. Could be my belt is too loose.

Israel

 
Joe_F's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

08-22-02, 09:03 AM   #6  
Joe_F
You cannot "top off". Overcharging is just as bad as having little or nothing. The refrigerant might be fine, there could be problems elsewhere!

First of all, if you "top off" that means there is a leak. That must be rectified. It is a waste of time, money and material to put refrigerant in a leaky A/C system.

1) First, was the system converted to R134A and converted properly? You cannot mix R12 and R134A.

2) Do you have A/C gauges to monitor the pressures? If not, you need to buy them or bail out and have it professionally done. AC work is not for the novice. You have to know what's going on in there to know how to fix it.

3) Pitch the belts for new ones. Never skimp on the cheap stuff. You'll wind up doing it twice. Only use quality Gates or Dayco replacements.

 
elihu's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 82

08-22-02, 06:28 PM   #7  
I just put on a Dayco belt, and I had a hard time putting it on--not much space. I left out a locking nut to get it to fit. I know, not a good idea, but it wouldn't fit.

Israel

 
Joe_F's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

08-23-02, 03:35 AM   #8  
Joe_F
The belt will likely loosen without the locking nut in place, so put it back.

The belt must be tight for the A/C to work well.

 
Search this Thread