Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

how to check coil, distributor?

Visiting Guest

10-16-02, 09:25 AM   #1  
bledsoe
how to check coil, distributor?

Hi, '95 Cherokee, 115K miles, automatic. won't start. fuel pressure is perfect, I checked that. Now I need to figure out which ignition component is bad. This is my first time doing this. Can someone tell me the steps they would take to debug this problem? Am I right to:
1. check for spark by pulling a plug from the block, lay it close to a ground, watch for spark while my buddy cranks the engine?

then if there's spark there, how can I check to see if the distributor's getting juice? and then how to check the coil? after that?

One thing I noticed so far is that the main contact on the distributor(where the wire from the coil goes) is black. Could that be the problem? the other contacts(for the plug wires) are all clean.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

10-16-02, 09:43 AM   #2  
Joe_F
Start with the links and posts below in my signature file.

Visiting Guest

10-16-02, 09:47 AM   #3  
bledsoe
Actually, I did, but the post doesn't go into specific details with regard to HOW to go performing these tests. Any advice?

Thanks

Visiting Guest

10-16-02, 09:56 AM   #4  
Joe_F
Again, look at Autolibrary as instructed. The coil test procedures should be there.

If not, I suggest you get an Alldata.com subscription as it will contain the values of the coil and how to properly test it.

Visiting Guest

10-16-02, 10:13 AM   #5  
Joe_F
Autolibrary has the procedures to test the ignition coil. I found it in a jiffy in two seconds.

Use the link as furnished by me below and let us know what you find.

Visiting Guest

10-16-02, 12:33 PM   #6  
bledsoe