yup...another heating problem

Old 01-22-03, 01:23 PM
bryankknight
Visiting Guest
yup...another heating problem

Back In Octoberish I could warm up my car drive 15 minutes to work and the car would be blowing its normal scorchin heat.

today I get lukewarm heat after letting the car idle for 20 minutes..drive to work and still have a pretty cold car when I got there.....
This is just an example that I am using. There is something not right...
Air blows out the vent that is warm...not cold...but not like it used to be by far.
I have read numerous posts and I am thinking that it is the core everyone is talking about...Should I try changing this first and see if that changes anything? Im not a mechanic but can at least change my own oil....so is this something i can do alone...I saw
how to in that guys maunal lookup thinggy and it looks pretty simple....
Is there anything else that I should check aside from this and the hoses being hot test.? Also I had heard that if you are lacking heat it means that the transmission could be getting old ( ready to go) ...is this myth true?

1992 Chevy Lumina 4dr/86,000miles/6cyl

Sponsored Links
Old 01-22-03, 03:13 PM
what does the temp gauge read? if the temp is good, the vents in the air box may not be moving enough to let the heat through. if the temp gauge is low, the thermostat may be stuck in the open position.

Old 01-22-03, 03:18 PM
bryankknight
Visiting Guest
where can i find the temp gague? sorry

Old 01-22-03, 03:28 PM
temp guage

The temp guage is the one on your instrumet cluster maybe next to the fuel guage.

Old 01-22-03, 03:57 PM