Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

ecm 1990 grand prix 3.1

Visiting Guest

02-02-03, 12:15 PM   #1  
lreel
ecm 1990 grand prix 3.1

My check gauges light and service engine light have been coming on. A loacl garage conducted an engine analysis on my vehicle and advised that there are two possibilities.

1. ECM unit - Where is it located on the vehicle? I have been told it is not difficult to replace.....just a little expensive. Please describe what it looks like.

2. Air charge sensor - same question as above.

No wise remarks please,,,,I am just learning.

I did replace a muffler......a thermostat........and I complete basic services on my own without a problem. I have just never dealt with the electronics or emmission system before.

Any help would be very appreciated.

Sponsored Links

02-02-03, 01:15 PM   #2  
while those problems may be causing a check engine light i doubt it has anything to do with the check guages light.
air charge sensor is usually located on air cleaner box small sensor with 2 wire plug in, the ecm i think is under the hood on the right fender well, usually covered by either plastic inner fender or coolant resoirver bottle. usually a black box with about 4 connectors.

Visiting Guest

02-02-03, 01:28 PM   #3  
lreel
1990 grand prix

Thanks for your help....I'll let you know if I am successful.

Visiting Guest

02-02-03, 02:55 PM   #4  
Joe_F
Check gauges has to do with the dashboard gauges. Could have a bad oil pressure switch, charging problem, etc. Are the gauges working normally?

Visiting Guest

02-03-03, 03:31 PM   #5  
sirslinkster
does it have a dis ignition or a distributor

Visiting Guest

02-04-03, 05:56 AM   #6  
Joe_F
Linkster:

All of these models are distributorless from 1988 up.

Visiting Guest

02-04-03, 01:39 PM   #7  
sirslinkster