Camry Radio/Clock/Dome Light not working

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-05-03, 09:48 AM
tkays
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Camry Radio/Clock/Dome Light not working

1995 Toyota Camry.

The radio and clock were working 2 days ago. Last night my wife comes in and says the radio won't come on and the clock is out.
So of course my 1st thought was to check the fuses. Which I did and all looked fine.
The interior lights that light up her a/c controls at night have been on the blink for a while, but I usually just smack the dash and they will kick back on. Which they still do, but the radio and the clock just seem to be dead. What can cause this besides the fuse?

The other problem is the dome light. I replaced the bulb and it still will not work. Is there a fuse for that, or do I have something I need to take to a mechanic?

Thanks in advance
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-05-03, 03:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 30
If fuse(s) are not blown, you have an open circuit. In other words, the wire that powers those items has no connection to them from the source of power. Time to "chase" wires.
 
  #3  
Old 02-05-03, 06:18 PM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Dome light, radio (memory power) and clock are same fuse. Should be in under hood fuse box labeled "dome"

Larry
 
  #4  
Old 02-06-03, 04:33 PM
tkays
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
so there is a seperate fuse box in under the hood besides the one behind the change holder inside the car?
 
  #5  
Old 02-06-03, 04:41 PM
tkays
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Okay, found the fuse box. ANy idea which fuse it is? I don't want to just start pulling fuses and do something I shouldn't
 
  #6  
Old 02-06-03, 05:51 PM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
As Larry noted, the inside of the box should be marked---or the owner's manual will tell you which is which.
 
  #7  
Old 02-07-03, 09:18 AM
tkays
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Guys

I had no idea about the other fuses under the hood. I just knew about the one inside the car...it said radio so I figured something else was wrong. Glad I got on here before I decided to take it to someone.

Just replaced the fuse and all is working fine again. Really appreciate it.

Thanks Again
 
  #8  
Old 02-07-03, 09:24 AM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Word of caution:

New type plastic fuses only go bad for a reason. Not like the old glass type would become old and break. You have to have a short some place for the newer plastic type fuse to blow.

By any chance to you have lighted vanity mirrors in the sun visors?

Larry
 
  #9  
Old 02-07-03, 12:19 PM
tkays
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No lighted mirror on shades

but, The interior lights that illuminate the A/C controls at night work sometimes and sometimes they don't. I can smack the dash and kinda Fonzy them on most of the time.
 
  #10  
Old 02-07-03, 12:56 PM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Heater control lights are protected by the tail fuse, so it has no effect on the dome fuse.

Larry
 
  #11  
Old 02-07-03, 12:58 PM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Any other acc added? Maybe after market sun roof? Phones? Alarms?

Larry
 
  #12  
Old 02-10-03, 11:30 AM
tkays
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Nothing else extra has been added on. So I guess there is a short in the wires for the heater control lights?

I also have another question.

Ever since the 1st time I had to change the back tail light out, he warning light for the brake lights, will not go out. Even though the brake lights are working fine
 
  #13  
Old 02-10-03, 02:51 PM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Heater light has nothing to due with the dome circuit.

Have to research "lamp failure relay" for possible power from dome fuse. I don't think off hand It's related though

Larry
 
  #14  
Old 02-10-03, 05:38 PM
fishpounder's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 58
tkays,
On your brake light problem:
Make sure the bulb that you replaced is the same as the other bulbs ( 1157,2057,2157,3157, etc..).
They can all fit in the same socket, but the resistance of the bulb is different.
Mixing bulb numbers changes resistance of the circuit. That is how the light on the dash determines if a bulb is out by a resistance change. You can inadvertently cause the dash light to come on by inserting the wrong bulb in the circuit. We get a bunch of these at our dealership.
 
  #15  
Old 02-10-03, 05:41 PM
fishpounder's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 58
OK, looking at the bulb numbers- not all the numbers I typed in will fit in the same socket but you get the idea...........

(Didn't wan't to edit and get the numbers wrong again)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes