1970 Ford F-100 For restoration

Old 03-24-03, 09:25 AM
JSStarkey1
Visiting Guest
Question 1970 Ford F-100 For restoration

I have a 1970 f-100 I have been restoring. I boned up & got ahead of myself in that mechanically I'm about done. The problem is I have discovered that the front cab mounts are shot. They are in the wheel wells and have rusted out to the point that the body has fallen slightly & come to rest on what is left of the mounts. By mounts I mean the body ...extensions?... the wings & actual mount on the frame are fine. I am not a body man & know nothing of welding or fabricating parts. Bolt ons & finishing are not a problem but this doesn't look like something so easilly fixxed. As far as the truck goes I am just beginning the body work & have several pannels to replace/repair including that fender & floor pan... Which is question 2.. Where/ Who is a good place to get replacement parts? Can these mounts be replaced & How would I go about it? This is a long term project & extensive body shop work is not in the budjet. I'm trying to keep it a DIY.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-24-03, 09:44 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Structural work like that is not DIY work. It has to be handled correctly, properly and right the first time or good body work is a waste on a decripit body.

There are multiple vendors for old body parts like that. Sherman Associates & Goodmark are two of them.

Believe it or not, it is probably cheaper in the long haul to have a rust free cab hauled in from Arizona or a rust free state.

Old 03-24-03, 03:01 PM
Try www.rustrepair.com and also the website and forum at www.ford-truck.com

Old 03-24-03, 04:29 PM